Steering Committees

The Academy of Clinical Excellence (ACE) is compromised of great clinicians at the Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons. After induction, each ACE member is asked to join one out of five steering committees that are critical to the success of our mission.

  • Executive Committee
  • Membership Committee
  • Mentorship Committee
  • Annual Induction and Lecture Committee
  • Communications and Outreach Committee 
  • Philanthropy Committee

Executive Committee Membership

In addition to the steering committees listed above, ACE is also comprised of an Executive Committee. Elections are held for open seats on the Executive Committee. 

  • Michael Argenziano (Surgery)
    Chair, Symposium and Events Committee
  • Stan Arkow (Psychiatry)
    Chair, Membership Committee 
  • Evelyn Attia (Psychiatry)
  • Carolyn Britton (Neurology)
  • Nancy Chang (Medicine)
    Chair, Communications and Outreach Committee
  • Hanina Hibshoosh (Pathology and Cell Biology)
  • Christopher Irobunda (Medicine)
    Co-Chair, Mentorship Committee 
  • Alexander Khandji (Radiology)
  • Julie Khlevner (Pediatrics)
    Co-Chair, Mentorship Committee 
  • James Lee (Surgery)
  • Steven Lobritto (Pediatrics)
  • James McKiernan (Urology)
    Co-Chair, Executive Committee 
  • William Middlesworth (Surgery)
  • Sara Nash (Psychiatry) 
  • Carrie Ruzal-Shapiro (Radiology)
    Co-Chair, Executive Committee 
  • Lynn Simpson (Obstetrics and Gynecology)
  • Craig Smith (Surgery)
  • Jonathan Susman (Radiology)
    Co-Chair, Symposium and Events Committee  
  • Joseph Tenenbaum (Medicine)
    Co-Chair, Philanthropy Committee 
  • Christina Ulane (Neurology)
    Vice Chair, Communications and Outreach Committee 
  • David Weiner (Urology)
    Co-Chair, Philanthropy Committee 
  • Robert Whittington (Anesthesiology)