Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series

2021- 2022 Dean's Distinguished Lecture in the Clinical Sciences

“Drawing Reproducible Conclusions from Observational Clinical Data”

presented by

George M. Hripcsak, MD, MS

George M. Hripcsak, MD, MS

Vivian Beaumont Allen Professor of Biomedical Informatics

Chair, Department of Biomedical Informatics

Columbia University

Director of Medical Informatics Services

NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Monday, March 8, 2021 at 4:30 p.m.

The Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons designates this live activity for a maximum of 1.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™. 


Dr. Hripcsak is the Vivian Beaumont Allen Professor of Biomedical Informatics and chair of the Department of Biomedical Informatics at Columbia University and director of medical informatics services for NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University Irving Medical Center. He is a board-certified internist with degrees in chemistry, medicine, and biostatistics. Dr. Hripcsak’s research focuses on the clinical information stored in electronic health records and on the development of next-generation health record systems. Using nonlinear time series analysis, machine learning, knowledge engineering, and natural language processing, he is developing the methods necessary to support clinical research and patient safety. He leads the coordinating center for Observational Health Data Sciences and Informatics (OHDSI), an international network with thousands of collaborators. Dr. Hripcsak is a member of the National Academy of Medicine, the American College of Medical Informatics, the International Academy of Health Sciences Informatics, and the New York Academy of Medicine. He has over 450 publications.

CUIMC affiliates may view a recording of this lecture on Microsoft Stream

Note: you will be prompted to log in to your CUIMC Microsoft Outlook account to access the recording.


Related Information

Past Distinguished Lecturers in the Clinical Sciences

2020–21 – Ali G. Gharavi

2019–20 – Jahar Bhattacharya

2018–19 – Ira Tabas

2017–18 – Alice Prince

2016–17 – Timothy Wang

2015–16 – Domenico Accili

2014–15 – Megan Sykes

2013–14 – Wendy Chung

2012–13 – Siddhartha Mukherjee

2010–11 – David P. Roye

2008–09 – Angela M. Christiano

2007–08 – Donald W. Landry

2005–06 – David A. Brenner

2003–04 – Rudolph Leibel

2002–03 – Barbara Barlow

2001–02 – Anne Gershon

2000–01 – Myron L. Weisfeldt

1999–2000 – Alan R. Tall

1998–99 – Donald Klein

1997–98 – Richard Mayeux

1996–97 – Herbert D. Kleber

1995–96 – Leonard Chess

1994–95 – Eric A. Rose

1993–94 – Harold C. Neu

1992–93 – Nancy S. Wexler

1991–92 – J. Thomas Bigger

1990–91 – Robert Canfield

1989–90 – I. Bernard Weinstein

1988–89 – Qais Al-Awqati

1987–88 – Lewis P. Rowland

1986–87 – L. Stanley James

1985–86 – DeWitt Goodman

1984–85 – Salvatore Di Mauro

1983–84 – Arthur Bank

1982–83 – Keith Reemtsma

1981–82 – Robert Mellins