The Martha A. Hooven Awards for Excellence

2021 Virtual Award Ceremony


Celebrating Employees' Commitment to Excellence

The Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons proudly presents the annual Martha A. Hooven Awards for Excellence to exceptional employees, or groups of employees, for their outstanding performance and contributions. Initiated in 2008, this award is intended to inspire all of us to strive for the very highest level of excellence by recognizing some of our truly exceptional people.

In 2019 the award was renamed the Martha A. Hooven Awards for Excellence, in recognition of Hooven’s contributions as Vice Dean of Administration at VP&S since 2007, when she joined Columbia from UCSF.

2020 Awards Information

Below you can watch the 2020 virtual award ceremony and find a list of the awardees. Read more about the awardees via the CUIMC Newsroom story, "VP&S Honors Seven Employees with Martha A. Hooven Awards for Excellence".


Vincent C. Santana Officer of Administration/Managerial Award

  • Regine Grandmougin

    • Senior Executive Director, Patient Facilitated Services and Stewardship, VP&S Office of Development
    Regine Grandmougin

Officer of Administration/Administrative Professional Award

  • Wei Jia Wang

    • Grants Manager, Department of Medicine, Columbia Center for Translational Immunology
    Wei Jia Wang

Officer of Research Award

  • Christopher Damoci

    • Senior Staff Associate, Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center, Oncology Precision Therapeutics and Imaging Core
    Christopher Damoci

SSA Union Member/Clerical Technical Award

  • Sofija Vlasevska

    • Senior Research Worker, Institute for Cancer Genetics, Pasqualucci/ Dalla-Favera Lab
    Sofija Vlasevska

Diversity Award

  • Brandon Ray Christophe

    • Research Worker, Department of Neurological Surgery
    Brandon Ray Christophe

Community Service Award

  • Joan S. Bregstein, MD

    • Associate Professor of Pediatrics (in Emergency Medicine) at CUMC
    Joan Bregstein

Special Recognition in Mentoring Award (Posthumous)

  • Rosellen Taraborrelli

    • Department Administrator, Department of Psychiatry
    Rosellen Taraborrelli

Award Areas

Each year, the Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons recognizes outstanding performance with the Awards for Excellence. Honoring individual and group achievements, the dean presents each awardee with a plaque and a $750 gift card. We will recognize one person or group in each of the following categories:

  • Officer of administration
    • Vincent C. Santana Officer of Administration/Managerial Award 
    • Professional / Administrative
  • Staff officer of research
    • Research
  • SSA Union Member
    • Clerical/ Technical
  • Community Service
    • A member of the faculty, staff, or a VP&S-based group that provides exceptional community service
  • Diversity
    • A member of the faculty, staff, or a group within VP&S that promotes diversity

Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons is a superb place to work because so many of us put forth our best efforts every day. The level of excellence by our employees makes this one of the finest medical schools in the country.


To nominate someone for one of the Martha A. Hooven Awards for Excellence, please fill out our nomination form:

Submit a Nomination

Contact Information

For more information, please reach out to the following contact in Human Resources:

  • Danielle Robbins

    • Senior Assistant Vice Dean for Human Resources; Executive Director, Human Resources and Faculty Affairs Shared Service