Winter 2024 E-News About and for Alumni

Student News 

  • Second-year medical students at VP&S celebrated their transition to clinical education with the Steven Z. Miller Student Clinician’s Ceremony on Jan. 5. Read more.
  • Halil Bequj, who will graduate this spring, is profiled in the Columbia Newsroom. Read more. 
  • Michael Denham is quoted in a story about anatomy class and virtual alternatives. Read more. 
  • Students from across the medical center met on Haven Plaza in October for a homecoming event. Read more. 
  • Occupational therapy students use virtual reality simulations that help them recognize bias, discrimination, and microaggressions in real-world interactions that may include patients and colleagues from different backgrounds. Read more. 

VP&S and CUIMC News 

  • Ajay Gupta, MD, has been named chair of the Department of Radiology, effective Feb. 1, 2024. Read more. 
  • VP&S faculty who were promoted or received notable appointments, honors, and awards during the 2022-2023 academic year were honored at the annual VP&S Dean’s Honors Luncheon. Read more. 
  • New VP&S faculty (July)
  • New VP&S faculty (August)
  • New VP&S faculty (September)
  • New VP&S faculty (October)

Read more news in the CUIMC Newsroom

A Selection of Class Notes 

  • A new documentary film tells the story of the development of the world’s first successful artificial mitral heart valve by Albert Starr’49
  • George Davis’72 is running for a seat on the Sarasota County (Florida) Public Hospital Board. Read more.
  • Bruce Kessler’72 has received the California Medical Association’s Frederick K.M. Plessner Memorial Award. Read more.

  • William Theodore’74 began his term as president of the American Epilepsy Society in December.
  • Robert Schoen’76 has been recognized as a Master of the American College of Rheumatology. Read more.
  • Marc Chamberlain’77 has joined Starlight Therapeutics as its chief medical officer. Read more. 
  • Read a Yale profile about Carolyn Rochester’83
  • Timothy C. Wang’83 was named one of two 2023 Senior Mentors at the Irving Institute for Clinical and Translational Research at VP&S.  
  • Michael Munier’87 was reappointed to the Halifax Health board of commissioners in Florida. Read more.   
  • Geoffrey Higgs’88 has joined Prosser Orthopedic Center in Washington state. Read more. 
  • Read about the work of Joseph M. Civantos’89.  
  • Baystate Health has named Yvonne Cheung’91 associate chief medical officer and associate chief quality officer for Baystate Medical Center in Massachusetts. Read more.  
  • John Barrett’92 has been appointed interim chair of the Department of Family & Preventive Medicine at University of Utah Health. Read more.
  • Paul Thesiger’93 has been named to the Board of Directors of the Kennedy Krieger Institute. Read more.
  • Magdalena E. Sobieszczyk’98 was named one of two 2023 Senior Mentors at the Irving Institute for Clinical and Translational Research at VP&S. 
  • OncoNano Medicine named Kartik Krishnan’98 PhD/’99 MD president and head of research and development. Read more.
  • Geron Corporation appointed Gaurav Aggarwal’00 to its Board of Directors. Read more. 
  • Read a Harvard profile of Henry Zhou’22

In Memoriam 


Send your news to  

Note: External links are current at the time of this posting. The Vagelos College of Physicians & Surgeons is not responsible for the content of external websites.