Spring 2024 E-News About and for Alumni

VP&S Student News

Two students placed in the 42nd annual William Carlos Williams Poetry Competition. Third-year student Jude Okonkwo placed first. First-year student Sydney Gray received honorable mention. Read more.

Columbia News profiled graduating student Omid Cohensedgh. Read more.

The 10 students in the Columbia-Bassett Medical School Program’s Class of 2026 have begun their clinical education at Bassett Medical Center. Read more.

See photos and read about Match Day 2024.

Two PhD students participated in this year’s Three-Minute Thesis Competition. Read more.

Kevin Gardner became chair of the Department of Pathology & Cell Biology. Read more.

Joshua Gordon will return to Columbia this summer as chair of the Department of Psychiatry. Read more.

VP&S and CUIMC News

New York City’s first all-electric biomedical research building will soon rise on Columbia’s medical campus. Read more.

VP&S researchers are on a team awarded a $38.95 million federal contract to build a living knee replacement that can be ready for clinical trials in five years. Read more.

Read more news in the CUIMC Newsroom: https://www.cuimc.columbia.edu/news

Of Historic Interest

Dr. Whipple of Whipple procedure fame was not the only Dr. Whipple. Read about the two Dr. Whipples.

For Women’s History Month in March, Barnard College compiled a list of eight graduates whose medical research changed the world. Six of the women on the list are VP&S alumni. Read more.

A Selection of Class Notes

The Stamford, Connecticut, History Center will honor Michael Parry’70 on May 9. Read more.

Anne B. Curtis’79 received the 2024 Dr. Carolyn McCue Award for Woman Cardiologist of the Year from Virginia Commonwealth University. Read more.

Ron Cohen’81 has joined ZWI Therapeutics as an independent director on the company’s Board of Directors. Read more.

The Center for Discovery announced the election of Donald W. Landry’83 to its Board of Directors. Read more.

Jon Stauffer’86 has joined the medical staff of Memorial Hospital and Health Care Center in Jasper, Indiana. Read more.

Iambic Therapeutics appointed Neil Josephson’88 chief medical officer. Read more.

Arvinas appointed Noah Berkowitz’93 chief medical officer and a member of the company’s executive committee. Read more.

James McKiernan’93 became president of the American Board of Urology in March. Read more.

Mike Woodruff’97 has been named executive medical director of Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Utah. Read more.

Yo-El Ju’05 was installed as the inaugural Barbara Burton and Reuben M. Morriss III Professor at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. Read more.

The New York Times published two essays by Daniela Lamas’08: one about lessons learned from COVID, the other about her patients who have cancer

Investment firm HLM has added Joseph Mayer’11 as a partner. Read more.

Sayuri P. Jinadasa’12 has been awarded the Rising Star award by the Sri Lanka Foundation in the USA. Read more.

Benjamin Gallagher’15 received the Society for General Internal Medicine Northeast Region’s Award for Excellence in Clinician Education. Read more.

In Memoriam

William Manger’46

H. Robert Crago’58

Paul Kantrowitz’58

Alfred Anthony Moscarella’59

H. Glenn Bell’62

Marc Weksler’62

Sandra Grant Burgess’63

Dudley Alfred Ferrari’63

Thomas Parks’63

Sanford Ratzan’65

David Borkenhagen’66

Ronald Allison’67

Virginia Livolsi’69

Paul Gustavson Jr.’70

John Newman’71

Arthur Sprenkle’71

Joan Barkin’72

Jonathan Lynn Evans’72

Sidney Jay Adler’87

Christopher Geary’00

Send your news to columbiamedicine@columbia.edu

Note: External links are current at the time of this posting. The Vagelos College of Physicians & Surgeons is not responsible for the content of external websites.