Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The PSR Fellowship is committed to recruitment and mentoring of underrepresented groups, education and training in health equity, and ensuring Trainees’ research projects address the deep-rooted disparities that persist in healthcare delivery and outcomes.

Our newly established collaborations include Internal Medicine Residency programs at Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Charles R. Drew University of Medicine in Los Angeles, and Ponce Health Sciences University in Puerto Rico.

The Fellowship is also supported by its own Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee, where each DEI Member also participates in another PSR committee to help ensure Trainees’ research projects address deep-rooted disparities that persist in healthcare delivery and outcomes.

William Turner

To me, Columbia has that perfect blend of being a tertiary and quaternary referral center where people come from all over the world for care, but it is really a community hospital for an otherwise underserved neighborhood … I was attracted to Columbia knowing that I would be able to help very vulnerable populations in the city. The second most important reason was the diversity in the house staff. I was very personally inspired to meet individuals like Drs. Thomson and Forde on the day I interviewed here, and to learn about the rich history in diversity and inclusivity that Columbia had had for decades before I arrived.

William Turner, MD, Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Patient Safety Research Fellowship

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

  • William Turner, MD

    • Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Patient Safety Research Fellowship
    • Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Center for Patient Safety Science
    • Associate Professor of Medicine Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
    • Vice Chief for Diversity
  • Marwah Abdalla, MD

    • Associate Professor of Medicine, Center for Behavioral Cardiovascular Health Director of Education, Cardiac Intensive Care Unit
  • Christopher Irobunda, MD, PhD

    • Associate Professor of Medicine
    • Vice Chair of Faculty Development, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
  • Julia Iyasere, MD, MBA

    • Assistant Professor of Medicine
    • Executive Director, Dalio Center for Health Justice
  • José A. Luchsinger, MD, MPH

    • Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology
    • Vice Chair for Clinical and Epidemiological Research
  • Rachel Shelton, ScD, MPH

    • Associate Professor of Sociomedical Sciences
    • Director, Implementation Science Initiative
    • Co-Director, Community Engagement Core
  • Anne L. Taylor, MD

    • John Lindenbaum Professor of Medicine
    • Vice Dean, Academic Affairs SVP, Faculty Affairs and Career Development